
 Statutory References:  Sections 5-10-804(1) & 5-10-805(1), Colorado Revised Statutes. 
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M E M O R A N D U M  

TO:  Rent-to-Own Businesses 

FROM: Uniform Consumer Credit Code (“UCCC”) 
Telephone:  (720) 508-6012 
E-Mail: uccc@coag.gov 

RE:  ANNUAL NOTIFICATION FILING – DUE JANUARY 31, 2016 

Colorado regulates the rent-to-own industry under the Colorado Rental Purchase Agreement Act.  
Rent-to-own businesses must file notification and pay an annual fee.  [5-10-804 & 5-10-805, C.R.S.]  
 
Initial Notification:  Rent-to-own businesses are required by law to file a notification form and pay a 
$50.00 fee for each rent-to-own location within 30 days after first entering into rental purchase 
agreements. 
 
Annual Notification:  Rent-to-own businesses are required by law to file an annual notification form 
and pay a $25.00 fee for each rent-to-own location by January 31st of each subsequent year. 
 
Your payment and notification form are due January 31st.  If you do not submit your 
notification form and fee by that date, you may not make rent-to-own transactions or collect rent-to-
own payments.  Fees may be paid by paper check (made out to the Colorado UCCC and enclosed with 
your completed notification form), electronic check or credit card.  To pay by electronic check or credit 
card, please follow the instructions on our website at: www.coag.gov/uccc/renew. 
 
Complete and return the Notification Form and Contact Information list by mail to: 
 
Colorado Department of Law 
Consumer Protection Section, Uniform Consumer Credit Code 
Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center 
1300 Broadway, 6th Floor 
Denver, CO  80203 
 
The notification form is not a license and you will not receive any certificate or 
acknowledgement when the notification fee is paid.  Your cancelled check or electronic 
payment confirmation is your receipt. 
 
Sole Proprietors and Individual Registrants must also provide a photocopy of your driver’s 
license, state identification card, or other photo identification. 
 
A copy of the Colorado Rental Purchase Agreement Act is available at www.coag.gov/uccc.  If you 
have any questions, call (720) 508-6012. 
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