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M E M O R A N D U M  

TO:  Retail Sales Businesses 

FROM: Uniform Consumer Credit Code (“UCCC”) 
Telephone:  (720) 508-6012 
E-Mail: uccc@coag.gov 

RE:  ANNUAL NOTIFICATION FILING & FEE - DUE JANUARY 31, 2016 

Enclosed is your UCCC Retail Sales Notification Form.  Credit sellers and retail merchants that 
regularly extend consumer credit as a “creditor” must annually file and pay UCCC notification. 
[5-6-201, 5-6-202, & 5-6-203, C.R.S.]  Retail sales companies are required to file notification 
even if the contracts are immediately sold or assigned to a third party.   
 
If you are required to file notification and fail to do so, consumers have no legal 
obligation to pay any of the finance charges due under the credit transactions. 
 
Your completed notification and $130 fee payment are due January 31st.  If payment is 
not received by March 1st, late payment fees of $5.00 per calendar day are imposed from 
February 1st, as authorized by law.  This fee will continue to accrue until your notification is 
properly filed and all fees due are received.  
 
Please complete all sections of the enclosed notification.  In addition to the UCCC Retail 
Sales Notification Form, you must also complete and return the following: 

• List of Assignees/Servicers 
• Contact Information List 
• Ownership – Collection Activity Questionnaire 

 
Additionally, please make sure to include a list of all offices and retail stores in Colorado where 
consumer credit sales/leases are made, as referenced on the notification form. 
 
Sole Proprietors and Individual Registrants must also provide a photocopy of your driver’s 
license, state identification card, or other photo identification. 
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Statutory References: Sections 5-1-301(11), (14), (17) & (42) & 5-6-201 through 5-6-203, C.R.S.
  
 

Please complete and return required forms by mail to: 
 
 Colorado Department of Law 
 Consumer Protection Section, Uniform Consumer Credit Code 
 Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center 
 1300 Broadway, 6th Floor 
 Denver, CO  80203 
 
Fees may be paid by paper check (made out to the Colorado Uniform Consumer Credit Code and 
enclosed with your completed notification form), electronic check or credit card.  To pay by 
electronic check or credit card, please follow the instructions on our website at:  
www.coag.gov/uccc/renew.  
 
 
The notification form is not a license and you will not receive any certificate or 
acknowledgement when the notification fee is paid.  Your cancelled check or 
electronic payment confirmation is your receipt. 
 
 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
 

A “creditor” is a person or business that sells or leases goods or services to consumers and either 
arranges financing from others or provides its own financing.  If your name appears on a retail 
installment contract or consumer lease as the creditor or lessor, even if you immediately sell or 
assign the contract to a finance company or bank, you are a creditor. 
 
A consumer credit sale contract is entered into by a creditor and an individual person, rather 
than an organization; is primarily for personal, family, or household purpose; the debt is created 
by written agreement and includes a finance charge or interest or that has 5 or more 
installments; and with respect to the sale of goods and services, the amount does not exceed 
$75,000.  [5-1-301(11), C.R.S.]   
 
A consumer lease is entered into by a creditor and an individual person, rather than an 
organization; is primarily for personal, family, or household purpose; the term exceeds four 
months; and the amount payable under the lease does not exceed $75,000.  [5-1-301(14), C.R.S.]  
All companies regularly entering into consumer leases must file notification. 
 
Retail sales companies may be subject to periodic compliance examinations pursuant to Section 
5-6-203, C.R.S. 
 
Please note that if you make, service, or take assignment of supervised loans (direct consumer 
loans in excess of 12% APR), you must obtain a supervised lender’s license. Applications are 
available at www.coag.gov/uccc/licensing. 
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