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M E M O R A N D U M  

TO:  Sales Finance Companies 

FROM: Uniform Consumer Credit Code (“UCCC”) 
Telephone:  (720) 508-6012 
E-Mail:  uccc@coag.gov 

RE:  ANNUAL NOTIFICATION FEE - DUE JANUARY 31, 2016 

Enclosed is your UCCC Sales Finance Notification Form.  Sales finance companies that regularly 
collect consumer credit contracts must annually file and pay UCCC notification. [5-6-201, 5-6-202, 
& 5-6-203, C.R.S.]  You are required by law to file the enclosed UCCC notification form and pay a 
$130.00 notification fee plus volume fees if you take assignment of, purchase, or service Colorado 
consumer credit sales or consumer leases and directly collect payments from or enforce rights 
against debtors arising from these consumer credit transactions. 
 
If you are required to file notification and fail to do so, consumers have no legal 
obligation to pay any of the finance charges due under the credit transactions. 
 
Your completed notification form and payment of $130 plus volume fees are due 
January 31st. If payment is not received by March 1st, late payment fees of $5.00 per calendar 
day are imposed from February 1st, as authorized by law.  This fee will continue to accrue until 
your notification is properly filed and all fees due are received.   
 
The volume fee for 2016 is $20 for each $100,000.  A volume fee is required for each $100,000, 
or part thereof, of the unpaid balances of each consumer credit sale or lease at the time it was 
taken by assignment in calendar year 2015. Please ensure any part of $100,000 is rounded 
up to avoid miscalculation of volume fees. 
 
 
Example: $1,500,370 total volume in 2015. (Round up to nearest $100,000 = $1,600,000) 
 $1,600,000 / $100,000 = 16 x $20 volume fee = $320 in total volume fees. 
 
 
Please complete all sections of the enclosed notification.  In addition to the UCCC Sales 
Finance Notification Form, you must also complete and return the following: 

• List of Assignors 
• Contact Information List 
• Ownership – Collection Activity Questionnaire 
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Statutory References: Sections 5-1-301(11), (14), (17) & (42) & 5-6-201 through 5-6-203, C.R.S. 
 

Additionally, please make sure to include a list of all offices and places of business in Colorado 
where business is transacted, as referenced on the notification form. 
 
Sole Proprietors and Individual Registrants must also provide a photocopy of your driver’s 
license, state identification card, or other photo identification. 
 
Please complete and return the forms to: 
   
 Colorado Department of Law 
 Consumer Protection Section, Uniform Consumer Credit Code 
 Ralph L. Carr Colorado Judicial Center 
 1300 Broadway, 6th Floor 
 Denver, CO  80203 
 
Fees may be paid by paper check (made out to the Colorado Uniform Consumer Credit Code and 
enclosed with your completed notification form), electronic check or credit card.  To pay by 
electronic check or credit card, please follow the instructions on our website at: 
www.coag.gov/uccc/renew. 
 
 
The notification form is not a license and you will not receive any certificate or 
acknowledgement when the notification fee is paid.  Your cancelled check or 
electronic payment confirmation is your receipt. 
 
 

IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
 

A consumer credit sale or lease contract involves you and an individual person, rather than an 
organization; is primarily for personal, family, or household purpose; the debt is created by 
written agreement and includes a finance charge or interest or that has 5 or more installments; 
and with respect to a sale of goods or services, the amount does not exceed $75,000.  [5-1-301(11) 
& (14), C.R.S.] 
 
Sales finance companies are subject to periodic compliance examinations pursuant to Section 5-
6-203, C.R.S. 
 
If you make, service, or take assignment of supervised loans (direct consumer loans in excess of 
12% APR), you must obtain a supervised lender’s license. Applications are available at 
www.coag.gov/uccc/licensing. 
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